Griffith Uni

Since opening its doors in 1975, Griffith University has come to be regarded as one of Australia's most innovative tertiary institutions and one of the most influential universities in the Asia-Pacific region.

Griffith was the very first university in Australia to offer degrees in Asian studies and Environmental studies to our students and we remain a pioneer in these fields. We have grown to be a large multi-campus institution with internationally recognised strengths in teaching and research. Griffith now offers more than 300 degrees across five campuses and is home to more than 43,000 students from 131 countries. Griffith is Australia’s ninth largest higher education provider.


Griffith University has 5 campuses spanning 3 cities between Brisbane and the Gold Coast, each with distinct areas of teaching and research strength and working closely with its local community: Gold Coast campus, Logan campus, Mt Gravatt campus, Nathan campus, South Bank campus.


Established in 1971, Griffith opened its doors at Nathan in 1975 to 451 students in four schools: Australian Environmental Studies, Humanities, Modern Asian Studies and Science. For more information on our history and to find out why the university is named Griffith take a moment to read through our history or explore our Fast Facts page, both on the Griffith Website.

The Master of Design Futures changed the way in which I understood design and design practice. It was a unique experience of critical thinking, reflection and redirection towards sustainment.
Daniel Lopera. Industrial Designer.
Master of Design Futures, 2011/ Colombia